Atta Kid's debut album, East Basics, is a collaboration between SF Bay Area musicians Daniel Casares (Irma Thomas, Bernard Purdie) on saxes and keyboardist Max Cowan (Zigaboo Modeliste, Jimmy McCracklin).  East Basics features trumpeter Mike Olmos (Etta James) and the New Orleans funk of monster drummer Jermal Watson (Dirty Dozen Brass Band).  The group is rounded out by Bay Area all-star Jason Muscat on bass and a rotating trio of guitarists: Jeff Tamelier (Tower of Power) lays the East Bay grease on tracks 1 & 3, Cedricke Dennis (Keb Mo) burns through track 4 and Nate Mercereau (Sheila E) cuts an edge into tracks 1, 5, 6 & 7.  East Basics bubbles over with funky street rhythms, percolating B-3 chops, unpredictable, inventive horn arrangements and tasty guitar licks. Sounding as if the Meters grew up in Oakland in the 70s, went to school with Snarky Puppy and hit the road with Dr. Lonnie Smith, Atta Kid writes smart originals that toe the line between contemplation and booty-shakin’.  The band shifts effortlessly from funky street beats (Swamp City, Happy Herd) to fast boogaloo funk with a side trip to D.C. for some go-go grooves (Touch and Go).  The compositions, all by Casares and Cowan, keep evolving as the songs progress with plenty of odd-time transitions and left-field detours.  Hold on tight. Atta Kid hits it hard. 

See what OffBeat Magazine had to say about East Basics in their January 2015 issue.

Daniel Casares - Tenor and Baritone Saxes
Max Cowan - Organ and Wurlitzer
Jermal Watson - Drums
Mike Olmos - Trumpet
Jason Muscat - Bass
Jeff Tameleir - Guitar
Nate Mercereau - Guitar
Cedricke Dennis - Guitar